Meet The Board

Dan Coughlin  (secretary) :  Retired social studies teacher and professional development leader, Dan is a past President of the Connecticut Council for Social Studies.  He serves on Chamberlin Mill, Inc.’s education and interpretation committees.

George French:  Sawmill maintenance staff for Hull Forest Products and member of Woodstock’s Open Space and Farmland Preservation Committee. George  brings a  strong  knowledge of regional sawmill history  to work on Chamberlin’s building and interpretation committees.

Ayla Kardestuncer:  Well-travelled linguist, and the best neighbor any historic site could have. Ayla is active in supporting and hosting Chamberlin events and keeping a watchful eye on the millsite.

Jean McClellan (President):  Retired educator with long-term commitment to historic preservation, including service on Woodstock Historic Properties and District Commissions, and on  the CT Trust for Historic Preservation board.  She has been involved in Chamberlin Mill’s revitalization since it began.

Jeffrey Paul:  Retired President of Whitcraft Group and board member of Day Kimball Hospital and Quinebaug Valley Community College  Foundation.  He serves as  liaison to area educational institutions for experiential learning activities.

Andrew Quigley: Member of Pomfret School’s Mechanical Facilities Department and owner/operator of a local sawmill.  Andy  has contributed countless hours to every aspect of the effort to revitalize Chamberlin Mill.   Andy leads the work  to reconstruct Chamberlin’s Lane #1 saw.

Nate Rosebrooks: Retired President of Fluid Coating Technology. Throughout his career Nate has been a machine designer and builder. For nearly a dozen years he has volunteered at the Mystic Seaport Museum researching and rebuilding antique marine engines. He is the force behind the rebuilt Studebaker engine for the Mill and serves on the building and interpretation committees.

Cassandra Ryan: Vice President and Chief Development Officer for the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee. Cassandra previously served with the Development Departments of Amnesty International USA, the American Civil Liberties Union, and Millennium Promise. She is a member of the Chamberlin fundraising team.


Gail Usher: Education Coordinator for Historic New England’s Roseland Cottage and Arnold House, Gail has served as President of the Woodstock Historical Society, Chair of the Woodstock Historic District Commission, and member of the Woodstock Historic Properties Commission. As President of the Woodstock Historical Society, Gail was instrumental in early efforts to assess Chamberlin Mill’s viability. 


Maureen Olshewski (Treasurer):  Vice President, New England Plasma Development Corporation, Putnam, Ct., started in 1988.  Maureen has a background in public accounting as an Enrolled Agent.  She served six years as treasurer for Woodstock Academy’s Board of Trustees and as an original board member of Chamberlin Mill, Inc., retiring from the board in 2019.

Richard Roberts, Esq. (Legal counsel):  Partner, Halloran and Sage, Hartford. Raised in Woodstock. Roberts has served as pro bono counsel for Chamberlin Mill, Inc. since 2012. He serves on and represents various local and statewide boards involved in real estate and land preservation issues.